INTERNATIONAL VOLCANIC ASH TASK FORCE (IVATF)

FIRST MEETING

Montréal, 27 to 30 July 2010

Agenda Item 2: Organizational matters

2.3: Establishment of Task Force sub-groups

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE IVATF AND RAPPORTEURS OF THE SUB-GROUPS

(Presented by the Secretariat)

SUMMARY

This paper presents proposals to elect a Chairman for the task force and Rapporteurs for its four sub-groups.

1. **INTRODUCTION**

1.1 The paper presents a proposal to elect a Chairman for the task force (TF) to guide its deliberations. It also proposes that its four sub-groups be led by Rapporteurs.

2. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

2.1 The TF may wish to note that, unlike meetings of ICAO panels or study groups, there are no ICAO directives to TF meetings, nor rules of procedure for their conduct. The TF may, however, concur that for efficiency, it would be desirable to elect a Chairman, who would ensure the smooth conduct of the meeting and the consideration of all the agenda items during the limited time available.

3. ELECTION OF RAPPORTEURS

3.1 It may be agreed that the sub-groups play an essential role in progressing the issues identified by the TF. The sub-groups involve participation from a number of States, international organizations and industry from most ICAO regions, which will require continuous coordination in view of ensuring that the deliverables be available as agreed under the future work programme. Under these circumstances, it appears important that the work of the sub-groups be carefully managed and

continuously followed-up. One way of ensuring appropriate management and follow-up would be to elect Rapporteurs for all the subgroups.

3.2 It will be noted that the detailed list of deliverables for the sub-groups and their Rapporteurs will be presented by the Secretariat under the future work programme (Agenda Item 8 refers).

4. **ACTION BY THE IVATF**

- 4.1 The IVATF is invited to:
 - a) note the information provided in this paper; and
 - b) elect the following positions:
 - 1) a Chairman for the TF; and
 - 2) Rapporteurs for the ATM, AIR and Science sub-groups, and IAVW Coordination Group.

— END —